Recent Posts

Menu week 3 – 9 July 2017

Good afternoon everyone,

Here to kick off your week is my first menu post. It was a pretty straightforward no surprises week, we had Sunday lunch at my sister’s house to celebrate her birthday. She made a lot of effort to make sure the food was Banting friendly for us, with the peach chicken dish the exception. We had the chicken but just none of the sauce and added the veggies and for dessert we had some of my Banting Milktart rather than birthday cake.

I tried making a dish that I have always loved especially when my mom made it, Melkkos, it’s like a cross between a milk porridge and a dessert but it’s not a breakfast food more of a anytime meal. I still need to make a few tweaks to the recipe before I can share it, there are some recipes available on the internet but I didn’t use any of them, I rather opted to make my own. We use to have it often when it was cold or rainy and it’s a true comfort food.

We also had some pizza, we don’t have it often but I thought it was time to give the Fathead Pizza recipe a go and I can now understand why everyone is raving about it…It is really good!

Just a reminder I don’t add drinks to my menu, I only drink black coffee or tea and water throughout the day.  I sometimes have a small cup of chicken bone broth during the day if I have some available.

If you want more info about my menus or cooking tips or recipes or just want to share in the day-to-day life of a low carber, please join our Facebook Page.

Enjoy the rest of the week and make good food choice for your health 😉

Monday:

  • Breakfast (08h30) – Scrambled eggs, bacon, fried mix (brinjals, mushrooms, tomato) and yogurt.
  • Lunch – Skipped
  • Dinner (17h20) – Curried ox tripe with turnips, brusselsprouts and cauliflower.

Tuesday:

  • Breakfast (10h00) – Scrambled eggs with mayo, bacon, fried tomato with feta and fried zucchini & brinjals.
  • Lunch – Skipped.
  • Dinner (17h20) – Mince & mushroom pizza with salad.

Wednesday:

  • Breakfast (09h25) – Scrambled eggs topped with fried veg and diced spek.
  • Lunch – Skipped.
  • Dinner (17h30) – Cabbage rice and beef mince with carrots and green beans.

Thursday:

  • Breakfast (10h00) – Quiche made with leftover cabbage and mince with added butter.
  • Lunch – Skipped.
  • Dinner (17h30) – Creamy boerewors, cauliflower, turnip & green bean casserole.

Friday:

  • Breakfast (08h15) – Fried zucchini, mushrooms & bacon bits topped with fried eggs.
  • Lunch – Skipped.
  • Dinner (16h00) – Melkkos with cinnamon & xylitol.

Saturday:

  • Breakfast (09h00) – Sweet potato flapjacks/pancakes with butter & cheese.
  • Lunch – Skipped.
  • Dinner (17h50) – Braai/BBQ (Steak, turnip bake, cauliflower/broccoli salad & a piece of grilled onion.

Sunday:

  • Breakfast (09h40) – Scrambled eggs, bacon, fried zucchini & mushrooms, fried tomato.
  • Lunch – Skipped
  • Dinner (14h00) – Green beans, cabbage bake, mashed pumpkin with butter and chicken. Dessert – Milktart.Week 3-9 July 2017
Leave a Reply

